Awani Review

Complete News World

The tournament will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand

Next July and August, the FIFA Women’s World Cup will be the biggest sporting event in women’s football. Co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, the tournament will be held from July 20 to August 20, 2023.

It is the first FIFA Women’s World Cup to have more than one host nation, and the first World Cup to be held in two confederations, with Australia being part of the Asian Confederation and New Zealand being part of the Oceania Confederation. Additionally, the tournament is the first to have an expanded format of 32 teams, up from 24 previously.

The tournament begins with 32 nations divided into eight groups of four. The top two nations in each group will advance to the knockout stages, starting in the Round of 16. The winners of each stage will advance to the quarter-finals on August 11 and 12, the semi-finals on August 15 and 16 and the final on August 20.

The opening match will be between New Zealand and Norway on July 20, 2023 at Eden Park, Auckland. The final will be held on August 20, 2023 at the Olympic Stadium in Sydney, Australia. The US is the defending champion, having won the last two tournaments.

Here is the composition of all groups:

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, Philippines
Group B: Australia, Canada, Ireland, Nigeria
Group C: Spain, Japan, Costa Rica, Zambia
Group D: England, China, Denmark, Haiti
Group E: USA, Netherlands, Vietnam, Portugal
Group F: France, Brazil, Jamaica, Panama
Group G: Sweden, Italy, Argentina, South Africa
Group H: Germany, South Korea, Colombia, Morocco

See also  Marchant had already taken America by storm

2023 Women’s World Cup: The tournament will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand