Awani Review

Complete News World

World Cup 2023 – Australia’s squad: Will Skelton named captain, Michael Hooper apparently absent

World Cup 2023 – Australia’s squad: Will Skelton named captain, Michael Hooper apparently absent

This Thursday, Eddie Jones announced the 33 players selected for the 2023 World Cup.To everyone’s surprise, Michael Hooper was not one of them. Roselaois’ Will Skelton will captain the Wallabies for the match, while Toulouse’s Richie Arnold will also be there.

To be surprised, this is a big surprise! Third-row Michael Hooper (31), a 125-cap man with the Wallabies and multi-season captain, will not travel to France. The Waratahs player injured his calf a month ago and will not be back to 100% for the World Cup. Other local media are pushing the simple choice of Eddie Jones, who doesn’t want to call Hooper.

At the level of selected players, the other big surprise is Will Skelton. Colossus from La Rochelle has been named Australia’s captain for this World Cup. Long unpopular in selection, the second line is now the boss of the Australian forward pack. Still in the front eight is Toulouse’s Richie Arnold.

McDermott vice-captain

He captained the side against the All Blacks last weekend, with Tate McDermott continuing to make the team for Australia. The Queensland Reds scrum-half will serve as vice-captain for the Wallabies. Meanwhile, former Montpellier player Nick White has also been selected.

As for the starting parts, Quade Cooper is on the floor. Young Carter Gordon was his favorite. In his back line, Jones has decided to rely on youth, but also some regulars from the international game, such as Samu Gerevi, Marika Koroibet or Jordan Petaya.

See also  Will the Tasmanian tiger, an endangered species, be resurrected soon by researchers?

Note that out of this 33-man roster, only 8 of them have already played in a World Cup. Still in statistics, three neophytes are invited: Blake Shoup, Isaac Fines-Lelivasa, Max Jorgensen.

Australia’s full squad:

Pillars : Angus Bell, Bon Fa’Mousili, Jane Nongour, Blake Shoop, James Slipper, Daniella Duboe.

Hookers : Matt Faessler, David Porecki, Jordan Uelese.

The second line : Richie Arnold, Nick Frost, Matt Phillip, Will Skelton (capt.)

Third line : Langy Gleeson, Tom Hooper, Rob Liotta, Fraser McGreyd, Rob Valletini.

Half of the scrum : Isaac Fines-Leliwasa, Tate McDermott, Nick White.

Half opening : Carter Gordon.

centers : Lalakai Fogeti, Samu Gerevi, Isaiah Perez, Jordan Petaya.

Wings : Max Jorgensen, Andrew Kellaway, Marika Koroibet, Mark Navakanitawas, Suliasi Vunivalu.

Versatile backs : Ben Donaldson, Josh Kemeny.