Awani Review

Complete News World

Australia has nearly 50 new spiders

Australia has nearly 50 new spiders

Known for its unique wildlife, Australia has added 48 species of hunting spiders to its already impressive list. These findings lead to a recent monograph led by Dr. Robert Raven and colleagues that systematically describes these spiders in five different genera.

Land of Arachnids

Australia is known for its exceptional biodiversity and spiders are no exception. Different habitats, from tropical forests to arid deserts, provide a variety of conditions conducive to a great diversity of arachnoid species. Australian spiders have developed unique adaptations to survive in often extreme environments, as evidenced by their wide range of shapes, sizes and behaviours. The country is also known to be home to some of the most venomous spiders in the world. Species such as the Australian black widow and the Australian funnel-web, although dangerous, are fortunately not generally aggressive towards humans.

Note also that these arachnids exhibit a variety of hunting behaviors. Some spin elaborate webs to catch their prey, while others are active hunters who stalk their prey on the ground.

Almost fifty new hunters

Like the spiders described in this recently revealed study 48 new species In hunting spiders in Australia, despite the current wealth of knowledge about Australian spiders, it is fascinating that new species continue to be discovered. All of these newly identified spiders belong to the family Midurkidae. These arachnids are primarily nocturnal and distinguished by their ground-hunting habits rather than web-building.

The task was not easy. For good reason, these animals are A Different habitats, including eucalyptus forests, brigalos, jasmine, heaths and other desert environments. In addition, spiders in this family are generally moderate in size, ranging in body length About ten millimeters.

See also  The United States condemns Mali's opposition to Minusma's new order
A male of one of the new species, Mithurgobelma barui. Credit: Queensland Museum

Dr Robert Raven and his team at the Queensland Museum have worked meticulously for decades to systematically classify and describe all the new spiders represented. Five different types : Miturgopelma, Knotodo, Xeromiturga, Miturgiella and Xistera. The researchers decided to pay tribute to some personalities from the arachnid world by naming some of the species, including Stacey Thompson, the former ranger host of the Totally Wild show.

Although spiders are not universally loved, these discoveries reinforce the fascinating and diverse nature of Australian wildlife, reminding us that nature still holds many secrets to reveal.

Details of the study are published in the journal Judaxa.