Awani Review

Complete News World

The Royal Society of Canada welcomes 11 new members to the University of Montreal

The Royal Society of Canada welcomes 11 new members to the University of Montreal

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) has published its list of new admissions for 2021, listing eight faculty members from the University of Montreal. Members are elected by their peers, and members are recognized for their exemplary contributions to Canadian society, both scientifically and artistically. Each one will join the ranks of one of the three academies of SRC, the Academy of Arts, Letters and Human Sciences, the Academy of Social Sciences and the Academy of Sciences.

The SRC also announced those entering the College of New Researchers and Innovators in Art and Science. Three UdeM professors are part of it. Members are elected for seven-year terms, and must demonstrate excellence in their field and be at the beginning of their careers. Highlighting intellectual, scientific, and artistic achievement, these appointments must be made within 15 years of the candidates’ graduation.

All candidates this year will be invited to accept their membership in the RSC at a ceremony to be held on November 19.

New members list

Canadian Royal Society

  • Frederic Bouchard from the Department of Philosophy
  • Eve Brun from the Department of Microbiology, Infectious Diseases and Immunology
  • Silvana Cote, from the Department of Social and Preventive Medicine
  • Michel Janouch from the School of Psychological Education
  • David London, Department of Physics
  • Alan Noel from the Department of Political Science
  • Isabelle Renaud from the Department of Art History and Film Studies
  • Christopher Rudd, Department of Medicine

A college for researchers and new innovators in art and science

  • Karim Al-Jerbi, Department of Psychology
  • Dalia Kerry from Rehabilitation School
  • Isabelle Ole Maureen, from the Faculty of Criminology
See also  There is no difference between dry cold and wet cold according to science