Awani Review

Complete News World

Omicron formula: The US closes its borders to travelers from 8 African countries

Omicron formula: The US closes its borders to travelers from 8 African countries

The United States on Friday announced the closure of borders to travelers from eight countries in South Africa in response to the emergence of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

• Read also: Omicron variant: No entry for foreigners who have resided in South Africa

• Read also: The B.1.1.529 variant of COVID classified as “of concern” by the World Health Organization is called Omicron

A senior US official said arrivals on US soil will be banned from Monday for those from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi.

He said that only American citizens and permanent residents of the United States would be allowed to enter the country.

This decision, in the wake of similar measures announced by European countries in particular, comes at a time when US President Joe Biden has just reopened borders to travelers from all over the world in early November, provided that they are vaccinated against COVID, after 20 months of restrictions.

The US official explained to reporters that “this measure was introduced in the name of the precautionary principle, in light of the new alternative to the Covid-19 virus that is spreading in South Africa.”

Listen to Luke Laliberte’s column on American politics:

“Our scientists and public health officials are working quickly to learn more about this alternative,” he added.

«Le président Biden a promis de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la santé des Américaines et vaincre la pandémie, et cette mesure était recommandée par les experts médicaux du gouvernement américain de la pandémie – saying – COVID-19», .

See also  A case of the new type of COVID-19 detected in Israel