Awani Review

Complete News World

Mark Bergiveen nominated for CEO of the Year award

Mark Bergiveen nominated for CEO of the Year award

The National Hockey League (NHL) announced Thursday that Montreal Canadiens general manager Mark Bergiveen is one of three Jim Gregory Cup finalists for the 2020-2021 season.

• Read also – Defenders of the Golden Knights will be one to watch

• Read also – CH: Take advantage of the house advantage

Bergevin competes with Bill Zito of the Florida Panthers and Lou Lamoriello of the New York Islanders for this award in recognition of a GM who excelled in his role during the NHL regular season. The winner will be announced on Monday evening.

This is Bergvin’s third nomination since he took over with Habs in 2012. He also became the fourth general manager to reach a plateau of three nominations for this cup, after Bob Murray, of the Ducks of Anaheim, David Boyle of the Nashville Predators, and Steve Yzerman, who was Previously at the helm of the Tampa Bay Lightning team and now General Motors’ Detroit Red Wings.

“This nomination makes me very proud, especially as it relates to the votes of my teammates. I would like to pay tribute to the wonderful work done by all members of the organisation, coaches and players, who have been able to deal with a very difficult schedule and have made personal sacrifices to ensure the success of the club. This recognition is also for them. Finally I want to congratulate Lou and Bill on their appointment.

This season, the Canadian finished fourth in the Northern Division with 59 points to beat the Toronto Maple Leafs, then the Winnipeg Jets. After the 2020 series, GM made several significant acquisitions, including acquisitions of Tyler Toffoli, Joel Edmundson, Josh Anderson, Jake Allen and Corey Perry. During the regular calendar year 2021, he signed an agreement with Cole Caufield, as well as dealing with the services of Eric Stahl, Eric Gustafson and John Merrill.

See also  Eric Hurtado traded by CF Montreal after rejection of COVID-19 vaccine

good competition

For the islanders, Lamoreello allowed his team to take fourth place in the Eastern Division. Team New York reached the third qualifying round for the second year in a row. His people were able to count on the arrival on April 7 of New Jersey Devils veterans, namely Travis Zajak and Kyle Palmieri.

As for Zito, he saw the Panthers take second place, fourth and fourth overall. Some of the players the club have acquired in recent months, including Anthony Duclerc, have contributed 79 points to coach Joel Quinville.

The Jim-Gregory Award has been given annually since 2009-2010, after voting by NHL officials and the media.

See also…