Awani Review

Complete News World

March Madness: UConn retains its fifth national title by defeating San Diego State

Tristen Newton led the way with 19 points as the University of Connecticut Huskies won the college basketball national championship on Monday by defeating the San Diego State University Aztecs 76-59.

It is the fifth title in UConn history and the first since 2014. That year, the Huskies were both victorious for the second time in four seasons.

Thus, UConn, managed by Dan Hurley, maintains its immaculate record in the NCAA basketball senior meeting.

For its part, San Diego State competed in the first final game of the prestigious March Madness contest in its program’s history.

Adama Sanogo scored 17 points and grabbed 10 rebounds for the winning team.

The Huskies built a 16-point lead late in the first period, only to see the Aztecs cut the lead to five points with 5:19 left. However, Jordan Hawkins (16 points) responded with a 3-pointer to spark nine unanswered points.

Kechad Johnson scored 14 points for the Aztecs, in their first appearance in the Final Four.

The Aztecs struggled in the first period with an 11:07 period as they did not score any baskets. Unable to shoot the key or behind the line, they missed 14 consecutive shots.

UConn’s latest trophy makes Hurley the third coach to bring a trophy to Storrs, Connecticut. He joins Jim Calhoun (1999, 2001, 2004) and Kevin Ollie (2014).

See also  Senators: Matthew Joseph in Ottawa for the next four seasons