The winner will succeed Aryan Roy, who won the honors in 2023. (File photo)

Photo: Radio-Canada/Eric Chouinard

Gab Bouchard, Grande Eugene, Jean Côté, KR Augé, Lou Adrien Cassidy, Marco Emma, ​​Rao Zee, Valence and Virginie B are the nine Quebec artists competing for the 28th Felix Leclerc Song Prize, which will be awarded during Franco-Montreal in June. .

The winner will succeed Ariane Roy, who won the honors in 2023. Hubert Lenoir, Les Loangs and Chloe Belgage are among the award winners in recent years.

The award was given in The partnership with Francofolies de La Rochelle allows a new artist from Quebec to make themselves known in France and vice versa.

The person will soon be invited to join the Francofoliet program in La Rochelle, in July 2025, plus a $1,500 grant from the Editorial Musinfo Group and a mobility grant offered by the French-Québécois Office. Young.

The Quebec jury, composed of representatives of the media, will have to choose the winner by identifying the artist who best respects the criteria of the award: originality and quality of texts and music, the importance of the creative approach, and the possibility of developing a work of art. His career at the national and international levels and contributing to the renewal of French-speaking song.

See also  Bianca Gervais lands the role of her dreams

Radio-Canada and I Newsletter

A newsletter tailored to you, full of discoveries and topics selected according to your areas of interest.