Awani Review

Complete News World

Britain bans travelers from six African countries with a new variant

Britain bans travelers from six African countries with a new variant


The United Kingdom on Thursday announced a ban on entry for travelers from six African countries following the discovery of a new variant of the South African Covit-19. South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe are particularly concerned.

All flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana will be suspended until 12 noon on Friday, Health Secretary Sajid Javed said.

The first signs of this variant may be more contagious than the delta variant and the vaccines we currently have may be less effective. Sajid Javed explained.

According to him, British scientists “ Very worried With this variation, the reason for the recent increase in cases registered in South Africa and also found in travelers coming from Botswana or Hong Kong. However, no case has been registered in Great Britain.

read more: Govt-19: A new variant was discovered in South Africa

Anyone coming from these countries will be asked to isolate themselves in hotels from 4am on Sunday. “Those who come before this date should isolate themselves and undergo two PCR tests on the second and eighth day of their incarceration,” the health secretary said. If anyone has come from these countries in the last ten days, we will ask them to do a PCR test. “, He added.

Great Britain is one of the countries most severely affected by Govt-19, with 144,000 deaths since the outbreak. The number of cases is high – more than 47,000 in the last 24 hours on Thursday – but more than 80% of those aged 12 and over have received a double dose of the vaccine, with nearly 30% receiving a third dose.

See also  Govit-19: Single pill drug, United Kingdom on the spot

The UK government has come under heavy criticism for delaying the tightening of travel restrictions at the onset of the epidemic, which has opened its borders as infection rates have risen.

(With AFP)